Vote to Improve PrestaShop

PrestaShop Forum: Build a free online shop. Count on the Community!

The best place in the world to ask questions about PrestaShop and get advice from our passionate community!

PrestaShop Forum: Build a free online shop. Count on the Community!

Photo

[solved] Move prestashop from subfolder to root

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic
midrik

PrestaShop Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 May 2009 - 11:54 PM

Hello

Im new to PS and am working on my first installation and setup using the latest stable version. I installed PS in a subfolder (www.domain.com/prestashop) but now I want to move it to the root folder so it will be www.domain.com

How do I do this?

Is there anything I can mess up in the process?

Some config file to edit?

Thanks
-midrik

Psychodays

PrestaShop Apprentice

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 179 posts

Posted 06 May 2009 - 09:04 AM

one sure fire method is to backup your DB and product images FIRST<<
then move your entire folder up a level. See if it's working. If not, move it back again. Do another install of your prestashop, upload your image files and insert the DB entries.
Marre des Conseils Contradictoires? Apprenez à Référencer Comme Un PRO sur :
Formation Referencement Ecommerce
Fermoir porte monnaie

MeenaInc

PrestaShop Apprentice

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 11 May 2009 - 03:46 PM

Also, once you make the move you need to go into your Admin back office and change the location of the install and leave that box blank. Once in the BO hit your PREFERENCES tab and make the necessary change.

michaeld

PrestaShop Newbie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 May 2009 - 02:28 PM

why not leave in the sub?

just edit your .htaccess file in the root dir and put this in it:
(you need to replace prestashop by your own subdir and mysite.com by your own domainname obviously)