Moving Prestashop to new vps

Hi,

Hoping someone can help, bit stuck!

I've decided to move my hosting from shared hosting to a vps. I've never used a vps before its running plesk panel.

I've followed this guide http://doc.prestashop.com/display/PS14/System+Administrator+Guide#SystemAdministratorGuide-MovingPrestaShop

I currently have the shop running on a live site and was hoping to make a copy of it, put it on another spare domain name i have then switch domains.

I've copied the hosting files from the live site to my local disk and uploaded to a new domain folder i created on the plesk vps.

I exported the database from the phpMyAdmin of the live site. Created a new database in Plesk (not sure how its linked to which domain, perhaps thats the issue?) gave it the same name as the existing db, same username and pwd.

I then updated settings.inc.php with the new settings and updated the "PS_SHOP_DOMAIN" and "PS_SHOP_DOMAIN_SSL" rows in the "ps_configuration" SQL table.

The result is i cant get anything to show when i go to the duplicate shop's url, or its BO login page. Just a blank page.

If someone could help, it would be really appreciated.

Thanks,

Paul

Thanks Carl,

Will try that shortly. I dont think i had the vps setup correctly.

So i'm creating a webspace this time and it looks like the database will be assigned to that.

Fingers crossed, i'll let you know how i get on.

Thanks.

Thanks Carl,

Will try that shortly. I dont think i had the vps setup correctly.

So i'm creating a webspace this time and it looks like the database will be assigned to that.

Fingers crossed, i'll let you know how i get on.

Thanks.

Hi Carl

I'm not sure where you turn that debug setting on?

Can you detail how to do it?

THanks.

Hi Paul,

Did you turn on debug mode to see any error messages?

/* Debug only */

@ini_set('display_errors', 'off');

define('_PS_DEBUG_SQL_', false);

change to 'on' and you should see error messages.

Ok got the debug working.