change name of 'home' (top) category

Guest Stephen Bromfield

Hi MontyVeda,

You can't change the top level category from the back office, but you can do it in the database. If you look for the table called "ps_category_lang"(it maybe a little different if you db prefix is not ps) you can edit the name there.

Hope that helps.

-Stephen

Hi MontyVeda,

You can't change the top level category from the back office, but you can do it in the database. If you look for the table called "ps_category_lang"(it maybe a little different if you db prefix is not ps) you can edit the name there.

Hope that helps.

-Stephen

Hi Stephen, and thanks for your reply... I'm relatively new to Prestashop and database websites in general... and therefore am not sure where to look for this. I've done a search for "ps_category_lang" in my website files... but no joy.

Thanks DaveL... works a treat

any idea where i can change it on the horizontal menu? (http://www.blinds.or...venetian-blinds)

You may have to do this as a .tpl file edit but first, check in Tools>translations>Module translations to see if there is a blocktopmenu section. If not this menu may have been included with your theme.

Look in yourtheme/modules id there is one. in that modules folder there may be a blocktopmenu.tpl file which you would need to edit.

Failing that look in /modules/blocktopmenu/blocktopmenu.tpl and make the edit there.

You will be looking for the word 'Home' obviously and you will need to change that to 'Shop'.

If you are unsure how to do this send a copy of the file to me at dave @ dvdlock dot net and I will do the edit for you.

Thanks Dave and Stephen... I've been though all the possible TPL's and other files in the block top menu folder, nothing with a 'home' to hack, so it must be drawing that from the Database. However in the meantime I've decided to put the shop categories on the menu and to (possibly) remove the home link altogether.

• 2 months later...

hi i found a good solution