new VPS and fresh install of 1.5.5.0 fails on gamification

I jumped into a VPS and have been getting thru setup of the environment.  Finally was able to start a fresh 1.5.5.0 install but it fails on install modules addons:

Cannot install module "gamification"

​Not sure where to look to resolve this one.

Thanks in advance for help!

Vekia - I see this message on the install/index.php progress page

I'm new to VPS and unsure of where I find the php error log?

Is it a cPanel VPS? If so, usually there's a file named "error_log" at the root of your website.

Still assuming it's a cPanel VPS, you can turn on error logging by going to "WHM > PHP Configuration Editor > Advanced Mode > Error Handling and Logging".

You can also raise the reporting level of PHP by adding this code at the beginning of any PHP script:

<?php

error_reporting(E_ALL);

?>

I jumped into a VPS and have been getting thru setup of the environment.  Finally was able to start a fresh 1.5.5.0 install but it fails on install modules addons:

Hello, how did you start the installation? Was it downloaded locally or installed from a service like simplescripts.

If it was downloaded locally, please let me know when you downloaded this package. Thank you

Look for a folder called "modules" and set its permissions to 777.

Still no luck guys!  I went in and changed the modules permissions to 777.
I changed the memory allocation from 32M to 64, 238, 256 and now at 512 - all no help.

I went thru Benjamin's post on php.ini tips and modified all of the suggested settings.

STILL failing on gamification  -  still not getting anything specific in the logs. 

Am I currently the only one fighting with this?  So far with my VPS I can tweak about anything - right down to recompiling the server, etc..

Grateful for the help!  I'll keep trying to figure it out...tho I'm running out of patience  :-/

Hello, how did you start the installation? Was it downloaded locally or installed from a service like simplescripts.