[SOLVED] 2 Column layout and modifying the column width

Hi guys!

Need help as I am a complete newbie. I've changed layout from 3 columns to a 2 columns layout (left and center) by commenting out lines in footer.tpl. :

{*<div id="right_column" class="column grid_2 omega">
 {$HOOK_RIGHT_COLUMN}
</div>*}

1.Is that the proper way to do it?

What I would like to do next is to spread the center column all the way to the right until it is vertically in line with the edge of the header bar. I cant manage to do that. I have changed the width of the left and the center column in the grid_prestashop.css but I can't increase it enough to make it in line with the header bar as it jumps down. I can only increase the width to the point where it lacks around 50px to be in line with the header. I believe there is some kind of margin that needs to be changed in order to spread the center column all the way but i can't find it. 2.How do I increase the width of the center column without it jumping down?

Now that I have spread it (and hopefully I manage to increase the width of the center column a bit more) the slider needs to be configured. I changed the height and width of the slider in back office and now the slider has spread over the "featured products" module at the bottom. 3.How can I move featured products module so it doesn't get covered by the picture slider?

I am really grateful to all of you, this forum has been of a great help to me!!

edit: solved the picture slider problem, changed the height value of the bx-wrapper located in modules/homeslider/bx_styles.css to match the height set in prestashop back office.

Edited by PascalVG (see edit history)
  • Like 2

There are two video's on youtube from that show you how to change from 3 to 2 columns easily.

Go to youtube and search for:

HOW TO MAKE THE 2-COLUMNS THEME QUICKLY: WAY 1 : PrestaShop Tutorial : IXThemes 7.x

and

HOW TO MAKE THE 2-COLUMNS THEME QUICKLY: WAY 2 : PrestaShop Tutorial : IXThemes 7.x