Hi

I don’t know if this problem has already been raised, if so could anybody please point me in the right direction.

I have managed to successfully install prestashop. In the guide it says I may have to switch chmod to 777 to install, which I did. Then it says to switch back to 775 or 755, which I did. After switching back to a safer setting nothing works. I tried all settings and it only works with 777, which I have been advised not to use. Can anybody explain what is happening and how I make the prestashop work with 775 or 755.

I’m pretty new to all this back end stuff so it’s all beyond me at the moment. I use WHM / cPanel and could get the guys who provide hosting to setup, only thing is they want to charge a small fortune for their support / help. If anyone could explain what I need to do it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Thanks for your quick reply.

I would have thought so, but wouldn’t know exactly where to look to find the log. Yes I was told 755 for directories and 644 for files, but following the prestashop installation guide it says to apply 755 to certain folders only, and 755 to certain folders and all files within that folder. Would it be a case of going through every folder separately and applying the correct chmod?

The hosting provider mentioned switching to suPHP, which again I don’t really know what they’re talking about.

Thanks

I am not sure if suPHP is compatible with prestashop. Ask them if they support suexec module and if they do ask them to enable it. They shouldn't charge you anything for this.

You can also apply the 755 mod for folders and 644 for files by yourself like you described. But prestashop unfortunately needs write access to a few directories like /config /download /upload /modules . Thus the wrong suggestion of 777 which makes them world writable.

What we do in these cases is to have the owner running apache get full access (rw) to those directories instead of having them world writable.