Open Discussion - What is wrong with prestashop overrides?

misthero

Hello everyone, I would like to start a constructive discussion with developers about prestashop override system wich I feel can be improved.

I'm not here to complain, but to understand the reasons why the system is like it is today, if it can be improved and how we (me included) can help and contribute to make it better.

I'm a developer that worked many years on other CMS from wordpress, magento, joomla etc.. but mostly active with what I think is the best of all: Drupal (but this is just a personal opinion).

Only a few years ago I discovered Prestashop so I'm not a [spam-filter], anyway, I liked it, even if the first impression was that I was working with a rough and very young system, with potential, but with a lot a flaws. It never worked out of the box and was filled with bugs. Anyway that was not a problem for me, since I was able to track down most of the bugs and solve it on my own implementations.

Than I started contributing with little patches, made my own modules for myself and shared some. But since the first day one of the things that left me a little disappointed was the override system.

The point is easy, and I think it was discussed before somwhere else too.

It is based on classes extending other classes, is a nice feature, but with this file override system there is a big flaw in my opinion.

Developers, web agencies and modules can create overrides. But only one override can exist for a given function.

So you will never be able to install 2 modules that try to override the same function.

Think about the future...

If we want this software to spread and the community to increase and contribute is easy to think that at some point there will be many modules, and is inevitable that 2, 3 or more modules will try to interact with the same classes and functions.