Permission of file and folders

BL_promo

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Hello

common sense is as already said that it depends on the server. Well, I am no techie :( But sometimes I can understand what I read but not always :)

However, my host tells me that it depends on the cms system. Lol

How do I secure my files and folders using permissions?

konsoleH™

Our award winning proprietary control panel empowers customers to manage their hosting environment.Take the tour

The default permissions set on directories (folders) and files on Hetzner’s managed hosting platform are:

755 (drwxr-xr-x) - directories

644 (-rw-r—r—) - files

The above permissions should accomodate most websites; while providing moderate security.

Permissions on files and folders can be modified using the File Manager in konsoleH, through a normal FTP client or via SSH depending on your website’s requirements.

If you are making use of a CMS (Content Management Tool) such as Joomla, WordPress, osCommerce or Drupal, the installation guide provided by the supplier will include information on any permission changes needed. It is imperative that you seek the guidance of the CMS provider on securing your website after installation and on keeping it secure by performing regular security and version updates.

So, after lots of reading and more confusing details I as a non techie think that in my situation it may be different. Why? Well, because I use a cheap hosting solution and I am told it is called:

shared hosting server solution for people who are no techies

I understand that it may be possible on a shared hosting solution that user A can see and may be back up data from user B via common scripts (akeeba in wordpress) or tools. Ok, that is something I read before asking again in this forum since information isn't crystall clear to me.