can Prestashop be installed on a p.c. without a hosting account ?

Hi,

I am new to Prestashop, and was very excited to find the web site offering a way to make an e-shop, so downloaded the software thinking, I just install it on my computer. However, once unzipped, I found no install feature so having read the install instructions on the prestashop web site, it seems that it need to be uploaded to a hosting account which I do not have yet, although I have now got a domain name.

Is there any way at all to use the software on the home p.c. without the need to a have a hosting account ? I just want to try it out first and have zero knowledge of hosting etc.

Thank you all in advance for your help.

P.S. If this is not possible, are there any free hosting services where I can try it out first, as I already have a paid host in mind for my shop, but do not want to be a paying customer until I know what I am doing. Thanks.

Thank you very much for your suggestion. I googled wamp and found my different types and did not know which to choose from but decided on wampserver, since it said everything installs automatically, and is easy for the novice.

Now that it is installed, I do not know how to install Prestashop, and there does not seem to be an install programme within the Prestashop download, and I do not know where to install the programme within wampserver.

Can you help with this please ?

Thank you.

P.S. the url for wampserver is :-

http://www.wampserver.com/en/

ok, good. i will do my best to guide you somewhat through this.

so now that wamp is installed, it is likely located in c:\wamp. Please confirm this, and if it is different, tell me the location. For now I will just refer to that as "WAMP_HOME"

The next thing you need to do is extract the prestashop download file into the webroot folder. This folder is "WAMP_HOME"\www. So extract the prestashop zip file into the "webroot" now, and you should have "WAMP_HOME"\www\prestashop