Noob General Questions - Hooks & Links

GAR

Hi Peeps,

Complete PS Noob here.... version 1.7.4.2 ...... generally trying to increase my understanding of how PS works.

We have installed a theme and customised it to our liking.... however I have some pretty basic questions that I can't seem to find the answer to anywhere :

1- What happens to a fixed link on a menu (i.e. /public_html/prestashop/page1.html) when the publish directory is moved to the root of public_html folder ? (when the site goes live). Is this handled by the re-write in the htaccess file ? If it is re-written..... how does this affect SEO in the link (i.e. what do the search engines see ?).

2- Why can't I add a hook into a page ? One of our modules uses a hook which isn't used in our theme - is there an easy way to add it ? When trying to transplant the module, the hook required isn't listed as an option ?

Thanks for any help ! :)

Graham.

Edited by GAR (see edit history)

37 minutes ago, GAR said:

1- What happens to a fixed link on a menu (i.e. /public_html/prestashop/page1.html) when the publish directory is moved to the root of public_html folder ? (when the site goes live). Is this handled by the re-write in the htaccess file ? If it is re-written..... how does this affect SEO in the link (i.e. what do the search engines see ?).

After move, you will need update the URL.

38 minutes ago, GAR said:

2- Why can't I add a hook into a page ? One of our modules uses a hook which isn't used in our theme - is there an easy way to add it ? When trying to transplant the module, the hook required isn't listed as an option ?

Of course this depends on the module, if it allow to insert a hook everywhere, then could be possible.

Thanks for your reply.... however it leaves me no wiser.... lol :)
Surely on publishing you don't have to go through the entire store re-doing all of the fixed links in menus and footers ? That could take ages !
There must be a better way ?