Duplicate shop without ecommerce feature

luke.c21hygiene

Hello all,

I know this is probably going to be a silly question, but I have to ask...

Is it possible to duplicate our prestashop shop so that I can use it with a second domain, here's the kicker.. it doesn't want to be a shop.. just an information website.

Basically I have been asked to create a second website that will be a different domain, they just want it to be an information website for certain products on our current shop. They want to keep the current theme and layout just minus the option to buy items..

Regards

Luke

That's actually a lot easier than I was expecting to disable the shop feature! thanks for getting back to me so fast.

As for the copying the website, I have no experience with anything like this so its a bit of a challenge.

We use a website called Softaculous to install software and things like that on our domain. This is where the prestashop is installed. It actually has a feature that allows me to clone a website, could I do that and just replace the url with the new domain? or would that be too easy..

Right, we use a script library called Softaculous which manages and installs the prestashop feature on our domain.

It has an option for cloning the website we currently have, you just input the new domain and copy.

I have tried doing this but when the new website is created when I go to its url it just redirects me to the current/old website?

This is because some domain related data is stored in the database. ps_shop_url table or so.

Furthermore your database configuration file needs attention. If you don't set up a new database, both shops would use the same database and hence you would always redirected to one of the shops.

Hi Scully,