Help requird with FTP 500 error and Module upload

As a total novice at this, I need to change the permissions on my files from 777 to 755 in order to eliminate a FTTP 500 Error message when using the Cash on Delivery Option. I have absolutely no idea where to find these files in order to make the changes, or indeed how to change them, please can someone help?

I have tried installing the Universalpay module in order to circumvent this, but despite changing the name of the Zip file I still cannot see it in the modules to install. I have read about changing the name of the file within the zip file but cannot work out how to do this.

Any help would be appreciated!

Hello Scottray1970,

Does the error message list the names of the files that need to be changed ?

I have absolutely no idea where to find these files

Those files are the ones running on your host, probably in something like public_html/modules/universalpay

Which hoster are you using ?

Have you any FTP client such Filezilla installed on your workstation ?

You cannot change the permissions in your ZIP before uploading it. You need to have an FTP access.

Hi there,

Thanks for replying. This was somethign that I read on one of the other posts that apprently permissions should be changed for all file extensions so as to provide better protection against hackers. It apparently also eliminates the 500 error that I cam receiving when I try to confirm a Cash on Delivery order.

My hosting site is Hoststar and I have full FTP and PHP access, but if I am brutally honest I am completely clueless as to how these actually work and how to find what I am looking for. If I run perl debugger on the configuration file it gives me a message stating that my files have the 777 extension but I don't know how to change this.