Problem with new install 1.6.0.6

Hi Everyone
Hi Vekia

I am new to prestashop and I am trying to learn the basics.
I have a new install 1.6.0.6 that has not been modified from the
defaults  when I navagate around the site to see what works
there are some things that are broken.

These functions don't appear to work.

{Top bar catagories , }
    On all pages the dropdown menu doesn't
work when curser is hovered , except for the
homepage and product info page.

{Top header shopping cart.}
    With products in cart,   
On all pages the dropdown doesn't
work when curser is hovered , except for the
homepage and product info page.

{Sort products feature}
    On all pages that list multible products - best sellers,
women,new products, ect -,  none of the sort products
options work, - price lowest first-, -product name A to Z,- ect

{ View by grid or list option}
     On all pages that list multible products, the option to
show products by grid or as a list does not work.

{ left column product filter}
     On all pages that list multible products, the option to
filter products by -size, color, styles-, does not work.

I looked for a way to activate some of these things
at the moduals
---Layered navigation block
---catagories block
-- cart block
but I found nothing.

I have installed presta 1.6.0.6 with one click installer
at server and manually and the same problems are there.

The same problems can been seen
on the softaculous.com  prestashop demo site

http://demos5.softaculous.com/PrestaShop/index.php

And on the Prestashop demo site

http://demo.prestashop.com/en/?view=front

Are these features suppost to be activated somehow ?
what the heck do I do about this.

my store isn't live so crawlers won't index the wrong type
of store on my domain. but if you can give me an IP you use
I can enable site to work for you.
The demo sites urls above have same exact problems.

Thanks You for any help.
     Presta 100

Hello,