Canada Post Module

I am new to prestashop to begin with. But on the features section on the prestashop site it lists canada post as one of the shipping features. 

Does this mean that it used to be a module?

And if it used to be a module will it be coming back?

Interesting. I saw that you can add your own shipping. But I did not fully look into it yet. 

How well does it hook into Canada post if I do this?

Will I see all the available services? and have the calculation done by volume etc?

I guess I should be looking into this now that Canada Post module is not an option now. 

Thanks Benjamin,

I read the document (quickly) and read the adding a carrier portion. 

To my understanding this will not use canada posts's shipping calculation at all. So I will have to try and get as close as possible to their results by just using weight/dimensions.

I don't see any mention of the cost being calculated by location however? So if someone is in a rural location the cost of shipping is usually much higher on Canada Posts's system. 

Am I misunderstanding this, or would the old module be a lot more versatile than adding my own carrier?

Hi sackling,

Do you have a Venture One card with Canada Post? If not, you can apply and get discount prices on shipping.

With a Venture One Card, you will have access to "Expedited Parcel" Prices that will be the same prices as regular shipping but almost as fast as Xpresspost.

Also, Canada use Rate code that you can find in a pdf chart somewhere in this site

http://www.canadapost.ca/cpo/mc/business/ratesprices/default.jsf

(I believe those documents are called "Canada Post Business Prices")

There is a different chart for Expedited Parcel, Xpresspost, Priority... that you can use to setup your shipping rate table under Shipping/Carriers in your BackOffice.

The charts use Weight ranges at 0.5kg intervals.

Anyway, just my 2 cents...

cheers

Dan

Edited by papagino (see edit history)

• 3 months later...
  • 1 month later...

Hi,