Display new products only of a certain category

Hi

I'm pretty new in Prestashop (developing since June) and for a shop in Prestashop (1.5.6) I have some categories:

Category 1

Subcat 1.1

Subcat 1.2

Category 2

Subcat 2.1

Subcat 2.2

Etc.

Is it posible, with a free or payed module, to display only the new products of a certain category (for example, in the page of a category, show the new products in it)? With the standard option all of them come together but I'd like to get them filtered by category.

I've been searching this and other fórums with no clues and it's strange because it's not a weird thing from my point of view. I installed and configured the Layered Navigation Block but it cannot filter by new products.

Thanks a lot in advance.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 8 months later...

good idea. thanks.

You can add        AND product_shop.`id_category_default` = '.$id_category.'

in getNewProducts   function

or create a new function like getNewProductsByCategory with a base of getNewProducts

where:

if (Group::isFeatureActive())
            $sql->where('p.`id_product` IN (
                SELECT cp.`id_product`
                FROM `'._DB_PREFIX_.'category_group` cg
                LEFT JOIN `'._DB_PREFIX_.'category_product` cp ON (cp.`id_category` = cg.`id_category`)
                WHERE cg.`id_group` '.$sql_groups.'
                AND product_shop.`id_category_default` = '.$id_category.'
            )');

Thanks

• Like 1

• 8 months later...

there is a cleaner way to do this without using sql

public function getProducts($id_lang, $p, $n, $order_by = null, $order_way = null, $get_total = false, $active = true, $random = false, $random_number_products = 1, $check_access = true, Context $context = null)

$category = new Category((int)$id, (int)$id_lang);
if (Validate::isLoadedObject($category)) {
   $categories[$item]['id'] = $item;
   $categories[$item]['name'] = $category -> name;