Display Categories on top horizontal menu but not in left hand side category list

Hi,

I've been using prestashop for a few months now and just want to know if there is a way to display some of my categories in the top horizontal menu ONLY, and not in the left hand category column. I still want to display the bulk of my categories in the left hand side column but I want a select few to appear in the top horizontal menu only. I hope that was clear.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Well, it is possible but in this case you have to make some modification of tpl file, i mean that you have to add some {if} conditions, where you will check the id of category. If id == id category which you want to hide - then don't display it, hope it is clear

• 3 weeks later...

please let me know the ID of categories you want to hide,

what presatashop version you use and give me some info about your theme - it is default? or some external solution?

waiting for your reply - then i will prepare code for U

• Like 1

thanks for quick reply.

I'm using prestashop 1.5.3.1 with the default theme.

My categories are 'mens watches' and 'ladies watches'.

many thanks for your help

ps this is my shop you can see where i'm trying to take those categories of the main category list on the left: http://saysales.co.uk/index.php

you need to provide the actual ID's not the name, in the admin area, go to your categories, you will see a list of your categories, to the left of the names of the categories, you will see a number, each one has it's own unique number, these are ID's, and these are what you will need to use in the IF statements.

EDIT: Having said that, I looked at your site, and went to mens watches and ladies watches, and realised that the ID number is actually in the URL.

Men's watches ID is 17

Ladies watches ID is 18

Edited by jd.creative (see edit history)

I've only be working with Prestashop for 2 days, so I'm not a pro, but I believe this should work: