actionValidateOrder vs. actionPaymentConfirmation

chrisdac

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Prestashop and want to add some custom code to be executed once a customer has successfully completed an order.

It seems like the correct thing to do here would be to create a module and associate it with the relevant hook; there seem to be two hooks that might be suitable: actionValidateOrder and actionPaymentConfirmation.

My question is: which is the most appropriate hook to use and under what circumstances?

Thanks,

Chris

actionPaymentConfirmation will be executed anytime the order status is changed to "Payment Accepted"

actionValidateOrder occurs directly after payment is submitted and an order is created, but before the email is sent to the customer.

In both cases, and order is successfully created. You will need to clarify if payment needs to be successful as well.

• Like 1

• 9 years later...

Hi! (1.7.5. upgraded to 1.7.8.7)

I am trying to figure out how to change an order status to paid (2|Payment Acccepted) so that ALL DB entries are created and not just the ps_orders.current_state is updated.

After some digging, there are a lot of tables that are updated when you manually set order as paid in the BO.

Does actionValidateOrder, actionPaymentConfirmation or some other hook create all entries in the database and send the email as changing the status manually from the BO would do?

Also, can I create a simple PHP script and call these hooks from that, or can they only be called from a registered module?

Edited by GoPure Kratom (see edit history)

You can use the below code to update the order status with all DB entries and mails.

$kb_order_obj = new Order({Order ID});                                //Relace {Order ID} with order ID
$history = new OrderHistory();

$history->id_order = $kb_order_obj->id;
$history->id_employee = (int) $this->context->employee->id;
$use_existings_payment = false;
if (!$kb_order_obj->hasInvoice()) {