Moving test site on localhost to another computer

Hi everyone, total novice here (I hear everyone groan but I do try to work things out for myself first) I was trying to create a new web-site on WordPress and failing badly. In searching for help on that system I came across Prestashop and think it is GREAT!!! I've already passed it on to several acquaintances.

I set up localhost creation on my PC and have got on pretty well with it, working on it for three days now and making good progress. I now wish to transfer the localhost system to my laptop so that I can take it to my domain host to upload - as I don't feel confident about performing that feat (and he probably wouldn't want me anywhere near his machinery anyhow!!).

Has anyone swopped a test site between computers and can give me any help on that? I have already tried the method of putting XAMPP on my laptop, attempting to create the same directory paths as on my PC and copying my Prestashop directory over to it - but it doesn't work and I had errors about not being able to operate from root directory and something else in red on the control panel which I stupidly can't remember and didn't make a note of.

If anyone can offer any advice on how to achieve this I'd be very grateful - Many thanks - Bob

Hi everyone, total novice here (I hear everyone groan but I do try to work things out for myself first) I was trying to create a new web-site on WordPress and failing badly. In searching for help on that system I came across Prestashop and think it is GREAT!!! I've already passed it on to several acquaintances.

I set up localhost creation on my PC and have got on pretty well with it, working on it for three days now and making good progress. I now wish to transfer the localhost system to my laptop so that I can take it to my domain host to upload - as I don't feel confident about performing that feat (and he probably wouldn't want me anywhere near his machinery anyhow!!).