Setup of Prestashop on dreamweaver - Development - PrestaShop

Jump to content

Photo

Setup of Prestashop on dreamweaver

#1

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:23 PM

Gurnboy

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 Active Posts
Hello all

I have downloaded a copy of prestashop and extracted it to my desktop
I have downloaded XAMPP and set that up
I have created database using myphpadmin
I have set up local server on dreamweaver and seems to be working

I don't know what to do next and dreamweaver won't view the startup page to link the database etc

I have scoured the forum for vids and help but there seem to be little pieces missing which I'm not experienced enough to deal with

I have set up the default on my website no problem but want to change things around in dreamweaver which I have used before.

Please help

#2

Posted 21 November 2012 - 04:45 PM

Gurnboy

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 Active Posts
I have succeeded in viewing the pages now but I'm going through the setup pages on prestashop to connect to the database and install the tables, however this is where I get stuck. I have attached a screenshot. Am I supposed to do it this way?

Thanks in advance

Attached File  screenshot.jpg   184.92KB   62 downloads

#3

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:04 PM

El Patron

    PrestaShop Legend

  • US Moderators
  • 12214 Active Posts
it's easier to just use your localhost to setup prestashop...then you can use dw for editing, live view etc..

I've never tried using dw to run installation....is there a reason you have in doing so?

Upgrade now including full customization of cool new theme receive free quote here.


#4

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:36 PM

Gurnboy

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 Active Posts
That's probably what I'm doing wrong, how do I do that?

I've pretty much got to this point from your other posts, so thanks so much.

Best regards

G

#5

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:40 PM

Gurnboy

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 Active Posts
Done it, I need to stop now I think!! Thanks again for all your posts

#6

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:56 PM

El Patron

    PrestaShop Legend

  • US Moderators
  • 12214 Active Posts
con mucho gusto....I have been using dw for years....happy prestashopping

Upgrade now including full customization of cool new theme receive free quote here.


#7

Posted 27 November 2012 - 11:47 AM

bonnyj

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 Active Posts
All new to this (as of last night) and just wondered if you could provide a high level overview of how you setup prestashop with dreamweaver?

You seemed to fix a lot of issues yourself so any help would be greatly appreciated?

#8

Posted 28 November 2012 - 04:22 PM

Gurnboy

    PrestaShop Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 Active Posts
To be fair I'm probably not the best person for this, but below are the links I used to get it sorted

install XAMPP and then create your database

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT7CQ1P2rRw

then create new site in dreamweaver, I think this is the link but it's not playing the vid at the mo

http://tv.adobe.com/...iew-navigation/

log in to localhost and go to the prestashop index file and complete the registration details as normal and voila you are good to go. below is another link that I found helpful. If you have any problems, note down what you've done and I'll try to help, good luck!

http://tv.adobe.com/...cms-frameworks/

Edited by Gurnboy, 28 November 2012 - 04:25 PM.


#9

Posted 27 September 2013 - 01:00 PM

Gowtham

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 39 Active Posts

Hello Friends,

 

I have been using prestashop for over an year now and am searching for a good debugging tool. Can i use dreamweaver for debugging. If not, please suggest a good tool.

 

Thanks,

Gowtham.


Edited by Gowtham, 27 September 2013 - 01:02 PM.


#10

Posted 27 September 2013 - 02:26 PM

vekia

    PrestaShop Legend

  • US Moderators
  • 50135 Active Posts

dreamwaver isn't debuggin tool. I don't know what you exactly mean by "debuggin tool"

can you shed some light on it?

 

you're looking for something to edit .tpl and .php files, right?


free tutorials, free templates, free addons, responsive prestashop modules MndfRK4.png


#11

Posted 28 September 2013 - 06:02 AM

Gowtham

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 39 Active Posts

Thanks Vekia for your reply.

 

I am looking for the tools which will help me find and correct the errrors in the code (Debugging), version control and also for editing the whole project (It includes file types like php, tpl, js, css etc,. )

 

Thanks,

Gowtham



#12

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:35 AM

vekia

    PrestaShop Legend

  • US Moderators
  • 50135 Active Posts

so if you want to control version, you mean that you want to be "connected" to prestashop's github?

dreamwaver in my opinion is good for html only, if you want powerful tool to debug php, mysql etc. you can use free eclipse or netbeans software.

 

if you've got some budget, you can use PHPdesigner. I'm developing alot, and im using it, im also on netbeans


free tutorials, free templates, free addons, responsive prestashop modules MndfRK4.png


#13

Posted 04 October 2013 - 07:12 AM

Gowtham

    PrestaShop Apprentice

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 39 Active Posts

so if you want to control version, you mean that you want to be "connected" to prestashop's github?

dreamwaver in my opinion is good for html only, if you want powerful tool to debug php, mysql etc. you can use free eclipse or netbeans software.

 

if you've got some budget, you can use PHPdesigner. I'm developing alot, and im using it, im also on netbeans

 

Thanks vekia,

 

I tried installing phpdesigner8 and i also like the interface. But when i try to debug, it shows the following errors.

1) Call to undefined function mysql_connect .

2)Class Db not found.

 

Please help me out to solve this problem.

 

Thanks, 

Gowtham.



#14

Posted 05 October 2013 - 09:09 AM

vekia

    PrestaShop Legend

  • US Moderators
  • 50135 Active Posts

well, this is not the best way to debugging... the best way: just install xampp on your windows, then check php error log, you will see there what and where doesnt work, then just check it in phpdesigner


free tutorials, free templates, free addons, responsive prestashop modules MndfRK4.png



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to use our cookies.     Learn more