Update Shipping to Soap XML exchange

jharkins

Hello,

I am needing to update the shipping cost to my carrier's cost during checkout.

1. I don't know where to begin in Prestashop to inject the code.

2. I have no PHP experience (I believe this is a matter of taking the code and applying it in the header section)

3. I REALLY need help.

If you would be so kind as to let me know where I need to begin I would appreciate it. I am able to search through the Prestashop directory that I have both on my host and as downloaded in Dreamweaver.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you in advance.

so if I am reading between the lines, you have an external service that will provide you with a shipping cost, likely based on the customers delivery address, and that service provides an XML (SOAP) based interface?

If you have no prestashop or php experience, I applaud you for wanting to take on this effort, however you are in for a steep learning curve. It will likely be much more than "taking code and applying it to the header."

Does this external service provide documentation on how to use their SOAP based interface? If so, please provide it

I believe that you are right on track with what I am trying to do. Essentially, from the order we'd take the customers address, the total weight of the order, and send it to the carrier via SOAP XML to in turn receive the shipping cost and apply it to the order.

I've attached a PDF with information in regards to the carriers XML usage and believe that I only need to use the "RateMyShipment" and use <FinalBillAmount>double</FinalBillAmount> to display to the customer.

After customer orders then I would need to send the "Confirm Shipment" to finalize it with the carrier.

Most of the XML parts are going to be static so I believe variables would be limited. At least I hope.

Here is a website with additional information about the carrier http://www.carrierrate.com/FMS/forum.html