Help using hookFilterProductSearch

Hello !

I have a problem using an undocumented hook. As far as I googled, there is no informations on how to use the 'filterProductSearch' hook. More precisely, once I've filtered the products I wanted into an array, how do I communicate it back to prestashop ?

Sorry if the question sounds dumb, but it's my first project using PS, which is a great framework by the way, but the lack of reliable documentation makes it really tough once you want to do advanced stuff. 

Cheers ❤️

Thank you so much for the answer ! But I stumbled on that topic and that's what I tried, but to no effect, so I'm probably doing something wrong...

My hook as it is :

public function hookFilterProductSearch(&$params){
        $product_array = array(
            0 => $params['searchVariables']['result']->getProducts()[1]
        );
        $this->logObject("Product array", $product_array);
        $params['searchVariables']['result']->setProducts($product_array)->setTotalProductsCount(count(($product_array)));
    }

The log is as follows, so the new array seems to be all right :

[19:45:23] Product array : array (
  0 => 
  array (
    'id_product' => '24',
    'id_supplier' => '0',
    'id_manufacturer' => '0',
    'id_category_default' => '2',
    'id_shop_default' => '1',
    'id_tax_rules_group' => '1',
    'on_sale' => '0',
    'online_only' => '0',

etc.

However, the result is still displaying all of my three dummy products when it should ideally display one.

Once again, thanks for your help, not super familiar to PHP so might have done a stupid error somewhere.

Edited by tatoufff
Typo in the code, changes nothing to the result (see edit history)

Okay, so I tried to debug it myself, and went into the PHP source files to track out the search variables after hook execution, and it turns out the array is modified as it should.