Test site installation problems

Hi all - I am trying to install a test site on a subdomain.  I go through the whole install process, delete the install folder, access the back office and get 500 errors on almost every selection I try.  There were two cautions during the install - one referred to an internationalization package/update and the other wanted me to change something in the php.ini file - but I can't find a php.ini file (nor do I know what the change means).  Since the install said it was successful, I neglected to write down the warnings.  Any idea how I can fix this?

Have you successfully got any prestashop to run on your webspace? You may want to post the exact error message(s) here. For better support by the pro's (I'm not a pro) you can also enable the developer option, then try to access your backoffice and post the exact error message there which you will get.

The tag is located here:

config/defines.inc.php

Set this tag to from "false" to "true"

define('_PS_MODE_DEV_', true);

then try to log on and post error messages.

First superficial comment, potentially your php settings/privileges prevent you from executing prestashop, could be something to fix on the server by the hoster. But better wait for someone who knows more than me, to give you better guidance.

Hi sumsel - I do have a live site that is running PS 1.6 successfully.  There were some issues with the PHP version when I was first trying to install PS 1.7 but it was all updated by my hosting provider.  I'll try your suggestions and see what turns up.  Thanks!

I will delete the install and do a fresh install and this time write the errors down.

These are the caution messages that appear on installation.   I don't know if either one has any effect on the site's running, and I don't know where or how to make these changes.  I have confirmed with my hosting company that the server meets all the minimum requirements.