Certain Blocks won't appear in "header" or top of pages hook in.

Hey Forum.
I am trying to set up a shop here, and I would really like stuff like categories block and shopping cart to be in the header og "top of pages". But when I try to hook them up there they don't show. not even in the code. What is it about top of pages that makes it so special ? or what makes certain modules like language and login stay up there ?

Best regards Dsan

The categories block and cart block were not designed to be placed in the header, only in the left or right column. The "User info block" displays cart information in the header. I suggest that you use a menu module to display categories in a menu, since the categories block as it looks in a column wouldn't look good in a header.

• 2 months later...

I'm having the same problem here. I'm a webdesigner/frontend developer and started building themes for Prestashop. The past 2 years I've been working on Magento and decided I should try Prestashop. I have several designs ready.

When I hook the "Categories block" to the "Top of pages" it won't show. There's no markup/ouput from the tpl file either. It isn't a CSS or JS issue. The module just won't load into the top of pages. It loads in the left column or the right column. I need it as a horizontal menu on the "top of pages".

I want to avoid core changes or adding custom modules as much as possible since. So far that's going well, but I'm stuck at this one.

In PrestaShop, you can't just put modules anywhere you want. You can only put them in the positions they were designed to be placed in. The categories block was only designed to be placed in the left or right column. You can add a new hook to the module so that it can be placed at the top of the page, but unless you create a separate menu template, it will display just like it does in the columns.