Questions on Building a New Site with Existing Site that is Live

rdubill

I am fairly new to developing websites with a prestashop built ecommerce template.

But I just completed my first one and I do like it's features and functionality. I now am much more comfortable with the tools and will stay with purchasing prestashop based templates in the future.

The site I just completed - https://pilotflighthelmets.com - was fairly easy since this only contained about 60 products.

What also made it much more easier is I had complete access to the "old" site - that is - the "old" site was not an ecommerce package so by having access to all the pages (I use Dreamweaver CS6 for this) I was able to keep that site up and running while I develeoped the new one.

The new site prestashop based ecommerce template was installed a directory names "/dev" by Template Monster and all I had to do was move this template to the main root directory when I completed it (all on the same host - Bluehost).

I then just changed each page from the "old" site to redirect to the new ecommerce packages pages to not lose my google & bing index rankings of those "old" pages.

Worked great!

My next project will be much more of a challenge and this is the reason for my post.

This site is ecommerce and is currently hosted by Network Solutions using their ecommerce package. Therefore I of course cannot move this to my new host which will be Bluehost.

This is a much larger site - approximately 750 products and about 1000 web pages.

I will use Bluehost again since Template Monster guarantees whatever ecommerce template I purchase from them will run without problems on Bluehost - they will not guarantee that if I host on Network Solutions.

The name of this site is www.tigerperformance.com.

What adds to the complication is when I started building this site Network Solutions required I use a subdomain to build with their ecommerce package - and that site name is store.tigerperformance.com.