Courier Tracking Module Assistance

Hello,

I'm investigating writing a tracking module for Fastway Couriers in SA. They provide full access to their API.

I'm new to PrestaShop internals, so I will go learn the basics of module writing from the Dev Guide and other free modules, but I have some questions that I think would help speed up my programming.

From the courier company, I only want basic tracking information, not courier costs, etc. So I will do an API query with a label/tracking number and get JSON back. I will then parse the JSON and find the statuses in there.

My question is: How do I programmatically/from a module change the status of an order correctly and in such a way that the connected/configured status email is sent to the user?

If someone could point me to example code or files in the Core to read, I would greatly appreciate it.

Regards,

ProSci

Hi,

Things are going well. I can find the orders that I want to modify and change their statuses. Then the call to addWithEmail() sends the required email. I can also query and parse the data from the courier company.

I'm stuck a bit with how to implement this in a way that I can run from a URL. For now I've been using a test module where all this code runs on install/init.

I followed a tutorial to create a ModuleAdminController. If I call this controller via URL in the browser with a GET param of runjob=1, it works (executes my helloworld and  creates file). It does not work when using curl. Is there a cookie or something I'm missing?

URL example: http://presta.local:8080/admin720shtsiy/index.php?controller=AdminTestModuleTestController&token=92cea04e5b1a2d792a7c59c00736caa0&runjob=1

public function initContent() {
        parent::initContent();
        if (Tools::getValue('runjob')==1){
            $this->helloworld();
        }
        $this->setTemplate('testcontroller.tpl');
    }

public function helloworld() {
        $myfile = fopen("newfile.txt", "w") or die("Unable to open file!");