Developing on your own machine

tallinn

Hi.

There is a PrestaShop hosted by a hosting company which I am to develop for.

I am pretty new to PrestaShop and was wondering how I could create a development environment on my own laptop so I can develop new features locally and then deploy them to the server?

Regards

Yes. That I get. And I have XAMPP on my machine.

Maybe I am not phrasing the question correctly.

I am following this guide: http://doc.prestashop.com/display/PS16/Setting+Up+Your+Local+Development+Environment

It tells me to download the PrestaShop from a link. As I understand it, that is a default barebones PrestaShop intended for people who are starting from scratch. I, on the other hand, am not starting from scratch. I am starting with an already developed PrestaShop by someone else. 

Now I have gotten access to the server where it is hosted and have downloaded the files to my computer.

So what I need to know is how to start developing for that PrestaShop instead of creating a new from scratch.

A side question. How large is a typical PrestaShop in bytes? The one I have is suspiciously large.

I suggest that you go to your cPanel File Manager, select all the PrestaShop files and then click the "Compress" button to create a ZIP of all your files. Download this file and then extract it to a subdirectory (such as C:\xampp\htdocs\prestashop if you're using XAMPP). You should then go to your cPanel phpMyAdmin and then click the Export tab. Select all the PrestaShop tables and then export them as a ZIP. Go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin and then click the Import tab and then select your database ZIP to import the PrestaShop database tables. If done correctly, you'll have an exact copy of your PrestaShop installation on your localhost.

It's hard to say exactly how big PrestaShop should be. PrestaShop's Smarty cache and CCC cache can become quite large and so can the /img directory if it has many product images.

Hi Tallinn,