Best way to setup Royal Mail shipping?

jkility

Hi all,

First of all, I've been looking at several different eCommerce scripts and have found them all equally confusing (PrestaShop including), and I'm an IT Engineer! I've chosen PrestaShop for numerous reasons but I've hit a brick wall at the moment.

I'm still in the VERY early stages of setting up the shop etc and wanted to see how the deal was with setting up shipping etc. I am setting this shop up as we are looking to sell Fudge to help raise money for my mums MS treatment abroad (We are selling fudge as a fundraising method).

The fudge we sell will majority of the time be sent via Royal Mail. Now the problem I have is, what is the best way to setup the shipping process? I've searched the forum a few times and a few people have mentioned Royal Mail but the threads have been 2+ years old and their haven't really been any solutions.

Our fudge will be sent in 5cmx5cmx5cm boxes (This class's as a small parcel with Royal Mail). Depending on the weight of the boxes depends how much it  (0g > 1KG = £3.95 , 1KG > 2KG = £5.50). Our products will eventually have weights on  them so for example each bag weigh's 250g. Would it be possible to do the following, 3 bags of fudge are charged at £3.95 (3x250g = 750g so less than 1KG) and if someone ordered 6 bags of fudge be charged at £5.50 (6x250g = 1.5KG). And if so, how would the best way be about going around that as from what I can see it is quite difficult and if we cant get the shipping sorted then we cant use PrestaShop.

I know there is a few modules but nothing seems to be exactly what we are looking for and that is free (We are effectively a charity therefore cannot afford to be paying £80+ for a module etc)

Apologies for rambling on a bit.

Thanks in advance!

• 5 years later...