Hook/module positioning

I used to have something in the left column of my site, and an image slider filling all the space to the right of it, but then when I deleted the left column, and added it back in with another module (categories), the image slider now either sits at the top centre, leaving no space for the left column next to it (so it ends up beneath), or if I add the image slider in again to the right column it sits in the right place, but no longer swaps the slides.

What do I need to do to get the category list alongside the image slider?

Thanks

http://www.snobscustoms.com

Are you sure that your image slider and left column are attatched to the same hook? I look at your code and they belong to different blocks. The image is a full size <div>, while the left column is part of another <div>, thus it doesn't appear next to the image.

They're on different hooks, which Is what I want isn't it?  I'm not very experienced with Prestashop and it's hooks - nothing seems straight forward.

I thought each module needs to be on its own hook.  The image slider used to be next to another module, until I accidentally deleted the other hook, but now the left column is back the image slider doesnt sit next to it. What do I need to do to get them next to each other?

My apologies if I confused you even more... To speak honestly I am also new here (building my site), and neither I do understand the system with the hooks perfectly. I just saw this video, and I think that the left column goes by default under the slider.

I just checked my .tpl files and I can't find anywhere the html code of the home page. If you find it and copy paste it, I can probably help you. 

As far as I am aware though, I shouldn't need to go in and edit the code. The modules should attach to the hooks and position correctly easily.