Speed of site?

djpat99

Hello Prestaworld,

I have been building a new website with Prestashop but have limited knowledge of servers and php etc (although I have picked up some things along the way). My first question is how can I tell what is slowing my website loading times? Is there a way to see if it is something in the software or whether its a slow server. 

My website is http://www.gamer-tech.org.uk which I am building to replace my horrible old website made with MrSite http://www.gamer-tech.co.uk

Also has anyone transferred a domain across before? I want the .co.uk being the main domain for the new website and wonder how difficult that is to do as I have never done that before. 

Sorry that my first post here is asking for help but I will be around the forums forever now and will contribute where I can.

Oh and the server is a cloud server on the professional package with these guys here http://www.names.co.uk/web-hosting

Edited by djpat99 (see edit history)

Hello El Patron, and thank you for the screenshot. I have it set exactly the same but it is still really slow. Guess I'll have to do some digging around. 

start here, set ps debug profiling to true

config/defines.inc.php

define('_PS_DEBUG_SQL_', false);

set to true

note: turn off when completed gathering data as all visitors bo and fo will get data

I have played with that before and just had it on again. While clicking around the site nothing has come up apart from when using the search bar where I did get a fail and this is what was displayed:

Fatal error: Uncaught --> Smarty: unable to write file /var/www/web/cache/smarty/cache/blocktopmenu/1/3/17/index/b5/6b/85/wrt541c5fd2dd4aa4_51798538 <-- thrown in /var/www/web/tools/smarty/sysplugins/smarty_internal_write_file.php on line 46