Increasing page speed

Hi all,

I just did a test for my site using gtmetrix and it gave me some critical errors (see below) but since I am new to all this and trying to work my way through any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am still learning prestashop so please be kind. :)

The theme we choose has turned out to be not the best choice but too late to go back now. I have contacted the theme developer but after 3 days now response.

Specify Image dimensions
Specifying a width and height for all images allows for faster rendering by eliminating the need for unnecessary reflows and repaints.

Leverage browser caching
Reduce the load times of pages by storing commonly used files from your website on your visitors browser.

Combine images using CSS sprites
Combining images into as few files as possible using CSS sprites reduces the number of round-trips and delays in downloading other resources, reduces request overhead, and can reduce the total number of bytes downloaded by a web page. Specific images were given in the list

Analyzing GTMetrix can drive you nuts! I gave up but my site still loads fairly quick

Page load time: 2.83s
Total page size: 1.28MB
Total number of requests: 72

There are some things you can do and some you can not. For instance, if you have a responsive theme, you may not have image dimensions because they will change as the theme switches to mobile or tablet view. Try adding this to your .htaccess file - it should help. Add this AFTER the line:

# ~~end~~ Do not remove this comment, Prestashop will keep automatically the code outside this comment when .htaccess will be generated again

...otherwise Prestashop will over-write it the next time it generates the .htaccess file.

#Enable gzip
<IfModule mod_deflate.c>
        SetOutputFilter DEFLATE
        AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript
        AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/xml application/xhtml+xml application/rss+xml