What is the most efficient way to update quantity?

• 4 months later...

Old topic I know but is there a detailed guide as to how to do this through PhpMyAdmin?

Of particular importance is how to differentiate between products with and without combinations as they are NOT stored in the same database table.

Can you not just use a CSV upload?

Actually, we use Store Manager, but of course there are costs associated with that (And of course that uses a CSV import also)

Thanks for the reply haylau.... I have been trying to figure that out for the past year. I have submitted quite a few posts on this issue as well there are so many other people asking about this without any solutions (other than a module) and I have tried them, including store manager. Here is the problem in a nutshell (at least for me):

I have a master spreadsheet for each of our suppliers. I receive daily updates (mainly for inventory and occasionally pricing) which updates my master spreadsheet. The problem with doing a csv upload through the BO is that I have approx 600 products but approx 1600 combinations. Some products have combinations - some do not and the way the database is set up in 1.5.3, the reference numbers do not exist in the same table and the table that does have combination data, does not have a reference column to tie in the item number with the id number.

There was once person on this form that had a method to do this, but only if you either had combinations or no combinations. For some that may work but for me, and I am sure many that offer products that come in different colors, sizes, etc..., this is a dealbreaker.