Tutorial: Move Blockcart to left/rightColumn (1.5)

CrossY

As i've just spent half a lifetime on getting this to work, a quick runthrough on how to (re)move your header blockcart, and add it to left or rightColumn (menu).

1. Open global.css
  2. Add the lines:
    								#shopping_cart {
    									visibility: hidden;
    								}

to the bottom of your file****. This removes the visibility of the Blockcart at the top of the page, but keeps the margins so that you don't have to fix your layout.

3. Open /modules/blockcart/blockcart.php
  4. Edit line 164 from:
    || $this->registerHook('top') == false

to:

|| $this->registerHook('right') == false

PERHAPS you might need to change 'right' to 'left' for leftcolumns. I'm not 100% sure this step is even required. Have I said i'm a beginner yet? ;)

Now the image still flies to the top right corner, we fix this in (open file:) /modules/blockcart/ajax-cart.js

5. Change line 219 to:
    if ($('#right_column #cart_block').offset().top && $('#right_column #cart_block').offset().left)
    							var cartBlockOffset = $('#right_column #cart_block').offset();

Change "right_column" to "left_column" if desired.

6. To fix a bug where the cart disappears entirely when you remove an item from the cart, change (in ajax-cart.js) line 311, from:
    $("#cart_block").stop(true, true).slideUp(200);

to:

$("#header #cart_block").stop(true, true).slideUp(200);

7. Make sure you enable ALL of the following hooks of "blockcart" in your BO:
    TopOfPages
    Header of Pages
    RightColumn or LeftColumn
  8. Save/upload files n shit, refresh browser and all that

* I'm a beginner, so I probably won't be able to answer any support questions

** Some of this code comes from other parts of this forum, credits to them (can't find your names anymore)

*** Worked for version 1.5.3, not tested on any other code

**** Blockcart is 'hardcoded' into the theme, so you can't unhook it like other modules.. hence this work-around.

Goodluck!