Adding to MailCore class, $template_vars

Hello. I'm no programmer, and don't have extensive knowledge about how PrestaShop works at the core, so I just need to ask how this should be done properly.

I want to add more variables to the e-mail templates so they can be used in all of them, not just one specific email. These are defined in the class MailCore in /prestashop/classes/Mail.php, the e-mail templates are at /prestashop/mails/xx/template.html.

Here's the defining of the variables:

$template_vars['{shop_name}'] = Tools::safeOutput(Configuration::get('PS_SHOP_NAME', null, null, $id_shop));
$template_vars['{shop_url}'] = Tools::getShopDomain(true, true).__PS_BASE_URI__.'index.php';

/* ADDING NEW VALUE */
$template_vars['{custom_var}'] = 'custom_value';

But can I add to the $template_vars somehow through a module, or in some other fasion, or do I have to override the whole shebang? I figure it will break if using a different version of PS.

• 2 months later...

Hi !

Yes you are totally right if you made the change directly in the /classes/mail.php, on the next prestashop version update you will create a conflict or at least loose every changes you made.

The proper way to do it, is to override the code. ... But how do you do that ? Well the prestashop doc' talk a little about it (But not enough ! è_é). Don't worry i'll try to explain.

Simply began by copying the file /classes/Mail.php to the folder /override/classes/Mail.php.

That's it ! You just override the mail.php ! o/

No wait, it's still do the same thing as before ?

Ok now we won't touch /classes/Mail.php anymore (It's a core file, some psycho dev' have kill for less than that), and every following reference to mail.php will mean /override/classes/Mail.php.

To be a good child file, you need to extends it to his parent.

In mail.php replace the following line

class MailCore
{

by

class Mail extends MailCore
{