installing in / , shop in subdir ?

Hoi,

I'm new to prestashop. I like to pose some questions, which perhaps are trivial to expereienced users, but, like I said i'm a freshborn in the prestashop-sea.

I have created a site for my brother : www.amorvino.be .

The provider gave me a login and password for using FTP; All files are transfered to this home-dir. But in the instructionvideo they upload the files to the / (root)

In the instructionvideo it is said that when you serve to your dolain prestashop is started.

This can mean, for me only one thing, that in the files transferred there is a file like index.htm

There isn 't only a file index.php which is in the root-dir (see above ) and not in the FTP-home.

So how can you start prestashop creation?

The site has already a shop created with an other packadge.

Because the site has a real homepage entering the shop is established through the file http://www.amorvino.be/store/enterstore.htm . The sections "bestellen" and "assortiment" will be merged together using prestashop but the surfer does not by default enters the store, he picks an item from the homepage : so is the initial prestashop-file choosable? (or is it always index.htm) In the soft I used until now , you create the shop locally, you tell whichh is the initial file to enter the store and publish (using FTP) everything to the place you want .

I want to create also a store for testing. This store will be located in subdir test : this prestashop will be used too test new features / layouts before going "live". Is this possible ? (links directky to previous question)

So, my worries are perhaps irelevant, but, hei I'am new :rolleyes:

I would appreciated very much if someone could help me feeling comfortable to use prestashop .

Hello,