Use social title field as antibot Honeypot in the registration form (new account)

elly63

Good morning everyone,
since my site continues to have BOT registrations, I wanted to ask you if by modifying the controller of the registration form it is possible to transform the "social title" field, which I have hidden using CSS, into a "honeypot" since it is only filled in by BOTs.
Thanks to anyone who can help me, I don't think it's difficult with some "if statements" in the controller but I'm relatively new to PHP.
Thanks in advance.
I attach the customer section of BO (only bots compile the social tile)

Immagine 2024-02-27 061714.png

Hi, because I think honeypot will work better than captcha, I don't want to use other scripts, I prefer that the client doesn't have to interact with
spit boxes or puzzles.

(ps sorry for my googleT english)

Hello

I have same problem on a presta 8.1 , the V3 captcha is not efficiency for bots

I have tried to install a recaptcha V2 but the file authcontroller.php is not updated to make recaptcha V2 ok ( IF somebody have an idea)

@ elly63  I have found a module  that limit well the ghosts accounts but not all 

the solution with the fake field (honeypot) is old but in my opinion it would be effective; unfortunately I don't know how to implement it in the registration form controller... and here I was looking for help.

Your best option would just be to use css. The difficulty is that by default the form groups don't have any selectors that you could easily use. 
In your theme you should have a file (for classic it's  templates/_partials/form-fields.tpl) containing the line:

<div class="form-group row {if !empty($field.errors)}has-error{/if}">

The $field array is described here on this page of the developer documentation.

If you modify the above line to be:

<div class="form-group row {if !empty($field.errors)}has-error{/if}" id="field-{$field.name}">