Questions about mail

Dear fellow prestashoppers,

I'm still quite new to the whole Prestashop thing, and I've been searching a bit for answers to these questions, but I can't find anything. It might be because I, being a newbie, don't really know what to search for yet. Anyway, here we go, and I apologize if this has already been answered somewhere that I couldn't find.

Changing the e-mail templates

I've created a theme by copying the default theme using the backend tool, and I've made changes to it for a few months and everything has gone well. Now I tried changing an e-mail template through the translations page and I chose e-mail templates > my theme (Prettypegs) > English. Upon pressing save I got this error message.

Cannot write language file for e-mail subjects, path is: /var/www/themes/prettypegs/mails/en/lang.php

I looked in the folder and found that there was no mail folder in the theme directory at all, so I went back and chose to edit the default e-mail template instead, which worked, and I could verify that the file on disk had changed too. Then I made a test purchase, and I got the old e-mail sent to me. I'm very confused - does my theme have its own e-mail templates, and if so, where are they stored?

Adding details to the e-mail templates

The second question, and it's related to the first one, is where and when the smarty variables for the templates are built. I want to add shipping information depending on the provider they chose. Will that need to be added to the database upon purchase somehow, or is it accessible when sending the e-mail later on?

Languages