Lnguage problems v 1.4.0.17

Hi,

I am new to Prestashop,and just starting to install / configure.

I'm struggling arund the language / translations as I want to install serbian for my client.

I have followed the various guides but I keep hitting a problem, I'm not sure if I am missing something

I get "An error occurred while updating object. lang ()" wen trying to update the language details, I created a serbian, as it was not on the list and tried to include the flag picture etc, but always got the problem.

But I also tried just changing the default lanuage to french or german, and the font end still defaulted to english... and when I try and edit french or german language I also get "An error occurred while updating object. lang ()" so I am am suspicious.

This is pretty early on in the build, am I doing something wrong? How (can I ) turn debugging on? Should I try an earlier version of Prestashop?

Help appreciated.

Alan

OK I have narrowed this down to a permission issue.

The error no longer occurs now I have granted write permission to EVERYTHING, (note the installer was happy with my permissions!) it would be handy if someone could guide me on what files / directories are updated by updating languages, as it would speed up 'narrowing down' the issue.

In any case I'll let you know when I find the culprit.

Alan

I also thought it was a uniquely permission issue - but after messing about for a while, I found that for some reason the flag is NOT generated correctly when uploading a flag file.
So I saved the flag as .jpg with the language number as file name - from the list of installed languages i BO - (I have 1.jpg for English, 2.jpg for French etc.) - and uploaded it to the l folder in /img.
And VOILA it worked.... for me at least!
The NO IMAGE file was uploaded fine and working...

I did, however, in the process of installing - have to (re)set the permissions to 777 on
- themes/prestashop/lang
- modules/productcategory
- modules/blockmanufacturer