Mail from contact form -SMTP method - how to change "from" field

A tricky problem with my mail system:

I'm sending mails from my shop to customers via a personal secured smtp server.
When the shop sends an email to me (shop owner), composed by a client in the contact form, the mail is sent via my smtp server, but the sender appears to be the customer who composed the email, and the sender's address is the one declared in the form by the sender.

Here is the problem: my smtp server does not accept foreign senders (foreign mails in the sender or reply-to fields), but only recognized authenticated users.

So, where is the code (in what php file), that compose the mails from contact form, because I need to modify the sender field, to be always my shop's address (the customer's mail address will still be announced in the body of the email).

contact.php in classes does not seems to contain the sending code (I'm not a php programmer but I do have some programing knowledge and I'm able to modify a variable or things like these)

Thank you very much,

Ok I don't know if it is the best way of solving it but here is what I did:

In contact-form.php (root folder of the site) I've changed the line:

if (Mail::Send(intval($cookie->id_lang), 'contact', 'Message from contact form', array('{email}' => $from, '{message}' => stripslashes($message)), $contact->email, $contact->name, $from, (intval($cookie->id_customer) ? $customer->firstname.' '.$customer->lastname : $from)))

with:

if (Mail::Send(intval($cookie->id_lang), 'contact', 'Message from contact form', array('{email}' => $from, '{message}' => stripslashes($message)), $contact->email, $contact->name, '[email protected]', (intval($cookie->id_customer) ? $customer->firstname.' '.$customer->lastname : $from)))

(change whatever applies instead of [email protected])

Thanks,
  • Like 1

• 5 years later...