extending product flags

Hello,

I am VERY new to Prestashop development. I would like to begin by creating a new column for my products as a special flag to categorize products I will later use in my development. I was hoping to get some guidance on how to approach this.

1. Should I just extend the actual table? I fear this might get overwritten during an upgrade or something.

2. Should I create a new table that has the foreign key to the product table and also the specific new columns I want? That way its safe from upgrades in its own unique table.

3. Should I create a module to do this? Seems like a fairly daunting task to create a module to "install" the new table, though maybe simply because I've never created a module. I plan to add more functionality, to the front end (product page, cart) at some point so I suspect this is the correct route.

4. Should I just create hidden categories to use for these flags? And place products in various hidden categories that can be looked up in the TPL code to determine how to display? This might be a simply method than editing the db, but not sure about any limitations. Also, I dont want the customer to be able to see these flags, I will use them to display different things on the product screen based on the flag status and some logic about the customers location.

Please let me know. I'm sure this is an easy task, but I cannot seem to grasp the exact approach to do so.

Hi vm. I don't know exactly what you plan to do, but I would say it's safer to add your own table with a foreign key to the product. Now, if you want to use this "flag" to alter the way the product is displayed, you'll need to test its value somewhere. Either it will be in the template or in the PHP code. In both cases, you'll need to retrieve your flag from the database....