Problems with CSV Import

Hello all,

This is my first time using Prestashop, and I need some help on importing data using CSV file.

Before I started to do anything, I read this guide - http://www.prestashop.com/forums/viewthread/49825/ So instead of using Excel, I tried to use Google doc to build my product file. Apparently, Google doc uses only "," (comma) as field seperator. But because I am using the comma for multiple value separator (eg: image URL). I used CSV'ed which is suggested by uddhava in the guide to convert the field seperator from comma (",") to semi-colon (";").

- Is there a way I can choose another character as field seperator in Google doc?

- Can I use "," (comma) in product description fields?

- Can I write in paragraphs and add hyperlinks in product description field? Somehow CSV'ed has problem reading the contents of the product desc fields in my Google doc when I there are line-breaks and hyperlinks.

- Can I build the product list from scratch using CSV'ed? Somehow I found it difficult to use and understand how it works...

Now, with field seperator as ";" and multiple value as "," I can proceed and have the system reads my data correctly (I thought...), but when I tried to import CSV data, there are error messages saying "Product -> quantity is empty Product -> name is empty" (pls see CSV-Import-04). Yet, I have actually put data in these fields (pls see CSV-Import-01, CSV-Import-02). Would someone please tell me what I have done wrong here?

In addition, there is error copying images for my product image (pls see CSV-Import-03 and CSV-Import-05). I want to use images in another domain of mine (hosted by the same hosting company). Can I do that? Or do they have to be in the same directory as where my Prestashop is installed?

Any advice and suggestion is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

26416_5Rp8GGH5lbrgTCTI7rSU_t

26417_KbP8emxpaXFIqD2oUd4b_t

26418_eimrVQvVI5gt7jT22Gaj_t

26419_rdaONg1bqYfdMW30Dxri_t