Guest checkout - only require email

Dear fellow PrestaShop masters, I come to you for guidance.

I have spent the last two days searching the web and small-coding trying to solve this difficult yet so simple problem in order to finally complete my first store. The lack of findings made me believe that I am not the only one biting my nails for this one.  :wacko:

Problem: It is quite simple, I would like the only requirement for guest checkout to be email authentication – that’s it. However, I would still like to keep the same old requirements for registration, so just disabling or removing them completely won’t do it.

I would truly appreciate your wisdom and forever be grateful if we can solve this together, thank you!

Hi ndiaga,

Thank you for your guidance. Could you please elaborate your answer or possibly include exact changes that need to be made since I'm not that experienced of source coding? BTW I'm using multiple step checkout, not one page checkout.

Would truly be grateful, thank you!

Edited by Dongster (see edit history)

When you comment a variable from the template if that variable is required you will get an error so try to use :

<input type="hidden" name="ndiaga"  value="PrestaShop expert">

instead of :

<input type="text" name="ndiaga"  value="{if isset($smarty.post.ndiaga)}{$smarty.post.ndiaga|stripslashes}{/if}" >

You will just need to put your own data for those fields by default .

Let us take password for example:

You have:

<div class="form-group">
<label for="passwd">{l s='Password'}</label>
<span><input class="is_required validate account_input form-control" type="password" data-validate="isPasswd" id="passwd" name="passwd" value="{if isset($smarty.post.passwd)}{$smarty.post.passwd|stripslashes}{/if}" /></span>
</div>

after using hidden:

<div class="form-group">
<!--<label for="passwd">{l s='Password'}</label>-->