Hooks!?!?! Im so confused, HELP!

Hi,

im trying to create a custom theme for my site and wanted to have a look at the html for the homepage.
Using Firebug (the Firefox tool) i can see the HTML and the CSS of the homepage. I manages to figure out that the HTML is stored in the 2 files called header.tpl and footer.tpl. But when i go to these files all i can see is something like &HOOK;_TOP.

My question is, how can i see what is stored in the Hook called TOP?!?

Common sense tells you that HOOK_TOP is the header, and from looking at the homepage i can see what modules are contained in the header. So when i look at the coding for that module, i can see in the coding that the module i assigned to HOOK_TOP, is that the only way of finding out what hooks contain what?
What if i didnt want that module to be part of HOOK_TOP, do i just delete that peice of code or replace it with another Hook?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

hi! im pretty new to this too

the {$HOOK_SOMETHING} lines just indicate the group of modules

if you go to the Back Office -> Modules -> Positions, you'll see a list of modules and where they belong. for example, "Right Column Blocks" refers to {$HOOK_RIGHT}, "Homepage Content" refers to {$HOOK_HOME}, and "Top of Pages" refers to {$HOOK_TOP}, i believe. to remove modules from "$HOOK_TOP", for example, click the red X next to the module. if you want to add, go to the top of the Positions page and hit "Transplant a module" and u can choose which "HOOK" to add a module to

if you want your homepage to be customized, you can try using the css. for example, since the homepage's body has an id of index, just do:
#index #left_column, #index #right_column {display:none;} if you want to get rid of the columns only for the homepage
of course then you'll have to expand the center column to fit the whole page:
#index #center_column {width:100%;} ...i think that should do it