Create a new cart and add products in it

Xtense

Hi there,

I'm new around here and I'm working with Prestashop for like two weeks. I was not even very familiar with OOP and I had barely heard of MVC (you got it, I'm not a pro programmer, I'm more like a guy who wanna do everything on his own). But I browsed a lot of documentation.

So I became familiar with OOP, MVC, Smarty and Prestashop modules (well familiar is a huge word I have to admit it :P).

Now I'm trying to adapt a tool I've been working on, you can find it here (oh French is my mother language, it's pretty intuitive though, and please god I know it lacks of Ajax, or transitions effects but come on guys it'sn ot over ^^) : hmastery.com/greativity/test

It's a tool allowing you to personalize some items with your own photos :)

So basically what I wanna do is when I click on save ("Enregistrer" in French on top right corner). I'd like to create a new cart if there's not one yet. So I tried using :

$cart_id = $this->context->cart->id;
/* Create a cart if there's no existing one yet */

if (empty($cart_id)){
$this->context->cart->add();
}

But it keeps creating a new one on without understanding my condition.

Once I got my cart, I'd like to add product in it, and oh my god, I've read the entire Cart.php class and I didn't find any suiting method.

Also I'm trying to store the personalized thing into customization, but I have understood almost everything except how to send the customized_data value. The following method :

public function _addCustomization($id_product, $id_product_attribute, $index, $type, $field, $quantity, $customization_value)

Sets it using this thing :

$query = 'INSERT INTO `'._DB_PREFIX_.'customized_data` (`id_customization`, `type`, `index`, `value`)
VALUES ('.(int)$id_customization.', '.(int)$type.', '.(int)$index.', \''.pSql($field).'\')';

And I don't know how to generate : pSql($field)