Prestashopic Clothing theme 1.3 - Not happening (def template mix with new)

Hello guys,

I'm a super newbie, but I'm kind of It minded, if that makes any sense.

HELP ME!!! I'm drowning in desperation :unsure:

I spent the last week nights and the whole week end trying to sort this template out.

I have Prestashop 1.4.7 installed on local using MAMP.

All sorted, all works. Green lights. yeah!

I'm studying the manuals and playing around to get some understanding.

I find this cool template on Prestashopic. Clohing theme one column, compatible 1.4+.

Great. I pay, I download. Happy!

I install the theme in themes and the modules in modules, following step by step the instructions.

I change my modules positions, I regenerate all thumbnails, etc.

Press view store. NAH. Loads my logo, the big sliding pic with the hotties, the banners at the bottom. All the rest is the old default template. <_<

Well, I probably did something wrong, didn't I?

Ok. 15 TIMES???

Disinstalled and reinstalled the whole Prestashop a few times, naked and 'dressed' w the default template.

Nah.

Emptied caches as found in some random posts in this forum about it. Nah.

Then, a feeling of power and genius fills my mind.

I try to fool the 'system' by rewriting all the modules, all the css, all the images, all the template files - so that Mamp can't find anything else that the new stuff ANYWHERE. buhahahahah (evil laugh)

View shop.

#$#%&^%%$%#!!!!!

The nasty monster inside my local finds the iPod images and descriptions anyway - No IDEA where.

And the top menu is still that ugly grey block.

I unhook all the modules and rehook them. Hopefully it will fetch the new ones..

25 min later (I'm quite slow)....Nope.

Breathing deeply to keep it cool, I go back on the Prestashopic website looking for help.

And...I find out that in the same template they show you a demo 1.3 (the one pictured in the preview, btw - and 1.3 stable version compatible ??? no idea what that means) and a 1.4.