What setup do you use?

leetvape

Hello all,

I'm a Rails dev by day but I'm using prestashop as the platform for my ecommerce store. In Rails, we use Github for subversion and push changes to the code up in 'branches' made from the source. Then we compare the two sets of code and changes are merged into the main source of code for testing on the staging site.

Achieving this effect for a prestashop powered site is proving a little harder. As of now, I am using Textmate to navigate and change the code but I can't devise a way to code and view my changes as I develop.

What setup are you guys using? As of now, I am forced to make copies of our site from the FTP folders, make changes to files one-by-one and then copy the changed files back into the site over FTP. Very laborious and time consuming and not effective development.

What software are you guys using to make changes to your sites? How do you merge in changes?

Happy coding!

I am coming from using X Cart myself, back to the old X Cart v4.1.11 it's horrible to customise why I am trying to convince a few of my boss's that Prestashop is a much better solution, as it has allot of the stuff I very badly shifted around doing in X Cart because it does simply not have that support it's a horrible system to try and customise.

I am very impressed with Prestashop at it's speed of delivering responses to the user much more quickly than X Cart even on the newest version it's teadiously slow, anyways onto about development.

As we can't really do allot of IDE stuff, though occasionally I do if there's a much bigger task ahead (like I will be using for what I am trying to do with Prestashop), I use Netbeans IDE using their plugin for PHP, loads the documentation in for you and gives you hints as to what to put into each function.