Is there any legal risk when processing payment via Manual Cash Processing Module?

Lou1234

Hi,

My friend, also my working partner asked me to find a module which can help him process the payment of his customer's order at the POS. I made a tour around the Addons Marketplace and found this module: https://addons.prestashop.com/en/point-of-sale-pos/6270-manual-credit-card-processing-offline-payment.html#overview

However, when I studied its process, I found it confusing, as there was a note like this in the module description:

"To make this process secure, only the first digits are saved to the database while the last digits and the security code are sent to a specific email address so that the complete credit card number is never stored on a single computer. Anyway, you can also configure to save all digits in database."

It means that when the customer pay for an order, he/she needs to provide all the card's information (Card numbers, expired date, CVV) so that the shop owner can use them to process the payment on the hardware terminal gateway. Nevertheless, it also means that the shop will have the ability to store all the card information in the database and can possibly make illegal purchase from the customers' cards. How can this module prevent this risk? As I see no countermeasure for this except for PCI compliance which prevents bad guys who hack the store and steal the card information. But what will happen if the bad guy is the store owner or the salesperson of the store?

@idnovate.com NO, you are wrong in this case.