[Build] Contributor interview: Pululu Kinanga André

blog-posts

An open source community is more than just pull requests made by faceless strangers. In order to better understand the people who contribute time and skills to the PrestaShop project, we’re writing a series of interviews with contributors of all ranges. This week, meet Pululu Kinanga André, one of our great developers on GitHub!

Pululu-Kinanga-Andre.png

Hi Pululu! First, could you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am Pululu and I come from Angola. I arrived in France in 2013 for my studies, after graduating in electronics and telecommunications. I have a degree in Management Information System (MIS), software development, and design. I am currently assisting the IT department of a digital agency in their migration and automation strategy. I am also interested in systems administrations (Unix), development, software design, and embedded systems.

If I had to summarize myself in a few words, I would write that I am “a discreet lazy lazybones who works hard and an Eternal admirer of the complexity of simple things”.

When and why did you get involved in contributing to the PrestaShop project?

I started to be interested in the open source philosophy in 2014. I found it was an amazing way to be able to help and share my vision with the world! It is now a conviction that we can all help each other and, together, build powerful and sustainable solutions. And a few years later, I started to interact on StackOverflow.

I had my first contact with the PrestaShop ecosystem in 2016, I was engaged in a work-study program at Alibabike, in La Rochelle. In 2017, I joined the agency123 as a developer and designer, and I made huge progress very quickly because PrestaShop is their area of expertise and their core business.

What motivates you?