How can I include a php file in the header?

I'm new to prestashop and just installed the version 1.4. I am having problems figuring out how to add a piece of php code to the header.

I need to insert <?php include('skin/shop-head.php'); ?> right before </head>. But can't figure out where and how to do that, as I'm not familiar with programming.

From reading the forum I can see I might have to add it by using the header hook and a custom module. The problem is I don't have a clue how to do this or how to make the module.

I have tried to duplicate a module and look into the php file, but still haven't figured out how i should include the path to the shop-head.php file. The file is in the root of the shop.

Can anybody help me out with this. I'm sure its something simple, but when you don't know programming it's not that straight forward.

Thanks in advance :)

I have now created and installed a new module with a simple echo "Hello World!"; in it and added it to the header (hookHeader).

When i load the shop I can see the Hello World appear on top of my shop. But when i look at the source code it appears before the doctype. What am I doing wrong?:

Hello World

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">

I really need to get this working or else I will have to find a different shop.

The purpose for including a php file in the header is because I need to wrap the shop in a companys website design using this tool:

http://www.studio-ow...skin-helper.htm

The neat thing about using this tool, is I can get the menu and design from the ordinary website to show on the shop so it appears the shop is a part of the website. This way I dont have to style Prestashop to fit the company layout, and I can easy update menu and design both places.

I have had it working with osCommerse, Opencart, and Zen before without problmes. All it requires is to have: