[Solved] Moving Prestashop directory - should be easy, but apparently not for me

Hi,
I have looked through this forum and thought I found something to help me out with my problem but it didn't actually make a difference, so I'm posting this new thread to hopefully get my answer. I would also like to say that I am a complete newb at prestashop and apologize for my ignorance on the matter.

ok, with that aside here's my issue

I just finished getting things all set up in my back office on a test folder - "shop". I would like to move my store to my main folder "steelpanstore.com" so that it will be active at that site without going to steelpanstore.com/shop. I know I could simply redirect steelpanstore.com to steelpanstore.com/shop and have my store load but I don't want to do it that way. I moved all of the files from shop into the main folder. I changed the directory within back office from /shop/ to just /. The site seems to load fine and actually does seem operational. However, I cannot log in to my back office anymore. I have kept the /shop directory intact so I can still log in there, but I should be able to login to steelpanstore.com/adminsen instead of going to /shop/adminsen. I'm sure I'm just missing something simple, but please help!

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

I did what was written below. Here is the full thread : http://www.prestashop.com/forums/viewthread/18393/installing_prestashop/move_prestashop_from_subfolder_to_root

why not leave in the sub?

just edit your .htaccess file in the root dir and put this in it:
(you need to replace prestashop by your own subdir and mysite.com by your own domainname obviously)
# Copy and paste the following code into the .htaccess file
# in the public_html folder of your hosting account
# make the changes to the file according to the instructions.

# Do not change this line - RewriteEngine on
RewriteEngine on

# Change yourdomain.com to be your main domain.
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www.)?mysite.com$