problem login into Prestashop ADMIN section

basmistry

I have a problem - can't login into Prestashop admin!!

Tried to reset Password - just in case but no luck

type in username and password keeps asking to login - NO error
if I deliberately type in wrong username or password - I receive an error

I've checked all the settings, cleared the cache - no luck

Front end of the Shop is OK

Prestashop 1.6.1.8 - using PHP 5.6

(Fontend seems OK upto PHP 7.0)

Any ideas on what to try next welcome

Extra info:

I restored to this site's Backup from November 18 to another Server and subfolder of public_html

I still can't login - if I put wrong info I get an error saying employee does not exist but with correct info - I get the login box seems to refresh but that's all!

I've now set the PHP to 5.6

BTW: Fontend works fine.

Although I set the site up 3 years ago... I'm no expert and now stuck!

Edited by basmistry
Etra information (see edit history)

This is the Prestashop admin login loop. 

Unfortunately there is no standard solution for it. I have been in it too a few times. Fortunately after sometime I got out - wondering what I had done different.

You can search the internet for "Prestashop admin login loop" for suggestions.

A few of the options that you can try are:

- empty the cache (can be done with Prestools without entering the backoffice).

- delete .htaccess

- try another browser/computer

- use https instead of http (
 -  disable apache mod security

- use localhost instead of 127.0.0.1 

- disable the option "Check the IP address on the cookie" in preferences

- check that you have the right settings in the ps_shop_url table
 - change settings in the ps_configuration_table: PS_COOKIE_LIFETIME_BO=480;  PS_COOKIE_CHECKIP= 0
 - Changed  "PS_CIPHER_ALGORITHM" from 1 to 0.

Edited by musicmaster (see edit history)

Very strange - losing trust in Prestashop

Restored backup from Nov 18 - same (cleared cache etc)